Have you ever felt you were stuck where you are because of your past mistakes? Feeling like nothing will ever change for you because of the mistakes you have made? Do you feel that your past haunts you, continually reminding you of all your failures and those that have failed you? I know the feeling friend, I have been there myself which is why I want to take the time to share with you scripture that will help you ‘get passed your past’ and start living for the future with purpose as God intended us to live.

Repent
*Psalm 51:4- 
Against You, You only, have I sinned, And done this evil in Your sight–That you may be found just when You speak And blameless when You judge.

Confess to yourself and God that you have sinned and fallen short of his glory and mercy.

Accept God’s Forgiveness
* Hebrews 8:12-  “For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their lawless deeds I will remember no more.”

Accept that God forgives us every time we truly repent and ask for forgiveness and God does not keep “tallies” of your wrong doings. Once God forgives you he remembers the sin no more.

Let it Go
*Isaiah 43:18- “Do not remember the former things, Nor consider the things of the old.”

God does not remember your past sins that you have already asked for forgiveness for and you should not hold on to these things either.

Keep your eye on the Prize
*Philippians 3:13-14- Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead. 14 I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

Focus on moving forward and becoming a better You in Christ and reach towards the fulfillment of God’s will in your life.

Renew your Mind
*Psalm 51:10- Create in me a clean hear, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me.

Ask the Lord to renew your mind and spirit that you will be cleansed and ready to move forward with a new attitude and outlook on life.

Remember you are Cleansed
*2 Peter 1:8-9- For if these things are yours and abound, you will be neither barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 For he who lacks these things is shortsighted, even to blindness, and has forgotten that he was cleansed for his old sins.

Don’t just ask God for forgiveness and to renew your mind but also remember that he has given these things to you. Accept you are cleansed and forgiven so that you will not be blinded by former things as you move forward.

Reflect on the Good
*Psalm 25:7- Do not remember the sins of my youth, nor my transgressions; According to Your mercy remember me. For Your goodness; sake, O Lord.

Reflect on the good things that have happened and the triumphs in your life even while you were struggling. Big or small there are always good things to be grateful for and to focus on in each situation.

